Army leadership lessons

Honestly speaking, I have really learnt and gleaned a lot of experience in different aspects of life thanks to army. And one of them are leadership lessons that I constantly am either reminded of / learning / convicted of.

Today our officer commanding spoke to all the sergeants and evaluated our mission that we did with us, there were a lot to learn from each other. But there was one thing that really struck me, leadership is one thing that is really dear to my heart. I would die to see good leadership figuratively.

Good leadership is not like instructing. You are leading when you go down to your people’s level and show them what is to be done and help them to achieve it. And frustration is what you get when you are not led well! I saw it in my men when one of the commanders could not lead well, did not manage to communicate nor assure them of his presence.

There was so much to learn, to physically see what good leadership could be like. Unlike spiritual leadership which effects are not as visible or immediate. It really was a privilege to see it upfront and be reminded of what poor leadership could do to the people.

And through leading in the army, whatever I tell the 6 men under me to do. They will comply and not fail to do it, executing every order I give.

 

The Faith of the Centurion

5 When Jesus had entered Capernaum, a centurion came to him, asking for help. 6“Lord,” he said, “my servant lies at home paralyzed, suffering terribly.”

7 Jesus said to him, “Shall I come and heal him?”

8 The centurion replied, “Lord, I do not deserve to have you come under my roof. But just say the word, and my servant will be healed. 9 For I myself am a man under authority, with soldiers under me. I tell this one, ‘Go,’ and he goes; and that one, ‘Come,’ and he comes. I say to my servant, ‘Do this,’ and he does it.

This whole passage really is brought out to life when I’m in the army, I can identify and relate with what the centurion is saying. That is exactly what is happening for me, there is no “no” in the battlefield when orders are given. Those under authority would simply do as they are told because that is the way it is, and it is what keeps everything together. It gives birth to order and not chaos.

However as it is to talk about good leadership, being human it really is hard to do. It requires you to put in all your effort and to be sincere with those you lead. People know and can sense sincerity, that alone plays a big part of being a good leader. And to be a great one, I believe it takes more than man to be one.

 

God I pray You expand my heart’s capacity so that I can lead more productively, that You can use me to multiply potentials! Expand my potential as well. In Jesus’ name. Amen!

~ by barnabas on March 2, 2012.

Leave a comment